SourceForge.net: Trouble with connecting via SFTP using FileZilla after password change

Recently I changed my password on SourceForge.net. After the change I wasn’t able to connect to the Developer Web using FileZilla. FileZilla just said: „Error: Authentification failed“ (and so on). I found neither help nor any information what the reason could be. Of course I tried the old and the new password. After hours of searching and trying I found a solution:

(1) I generated a new SSH-Key of type RSA (using a nice tool named „Seahorse“ on my Linux) wich doesn’t require a password .

(2) I uploaded the public part of the key to SourceForge.net (log in and go to Account -> Services, there is a link named „Edit SSH Keys for Shell/CVS“ – click on it and insert the key).

(3) I told FileZilla about the private part of the key (its in a hidden folder named „.ssh“, the name of the file is the same as of the public part but without „.pub“ at the end) by going to Preferences -> Connection -> SSH. FileZilla complained that it can not deal with keys which need a password (we set up the key such that this is true  for our key: I we don’t need a password to use it) and that it need to convert the key. Just convert it – the original file will be not overwritten.

Now I can access SourceForge.net’s Develeoper Web again.

Veröffentlicht in Uncategorized. Schlagwörter: , , , . Kommentare deaktiviert für SourceForge.net: Trouble with connecting via SFTP using FileZilla after password change
