Debian testing: Can’t log in to Xfce – and how to fix this

Last Wednesday I turned on my Laptop and tried to log in to Xfce desktop as usual. But after typing in my password and hitting Enter the system worked a moment and then a saw the window for graphical log in again. For cases like this (or when I like a change) always have a second desktop installed (LXDE). I could log in using LXDE without problems.

With Google I found this Can’t log in to xfce. It says: "Recently I solved this by deleting /~/.ICEauthotity ". OK, I renamed this file in my home directory to _ICEauthotity, made a fresh backup (one but not the only reason is that I use an encrypted file system to protect my data ;-))) and rebooted.

I was able to log in to Xfce again!

What may happened?

.ICEauthority file when I was unable to log in to Xfce (renamed to _ICEauthority):

-rw------- 1 michael michael 0 Mär 28 18:46 _ICEauthority

.ICEauthority file when I was able to log in to Xfce:

-rw------- 1 michael michael 330 Apr 1 16:54 .ICEauthority

The .ICEauthority file was empty!

Conclusion:

1) You may delete the .ICEauthority file – Linux can restore it on next reboot

2) When the .ICEauthority file is empty it may cause trouble like you can not log in to your desktop.

3) It was a good idea to have a second desktop already installed.

Veröffentlicht in Uncategorized. Kommentare deaktiviert für Debian testing: Can’t log in to Xfce – and how to fix this
